cig_logo.png

GOVERNANCE

To remain a nimble and relevant organization, CIG relies on the expertise, vision, and guidance of the community utilizing a community-centric management structure.  Goals and directions are determined through community input from topical Working Groups and suggestions coming from the scientific community.  The Science Steering Committee (SSC) considers and recommends CIG activities, which are then considered and approved by an Executive Committee (EC). The collective charge of the SSC and EC is to identify and balance common needs across disciplines, balancing activities between ongoing support and development of established codes and infrastructure, responding to community needs for new codes and infrastructure, and supporting community development of the CIG community.  

CIG Bylaws   As approved 30 June 2018


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is the primary decision-making body of CIG. The EC meets at least monthly by phone to discuss administration and organization activities. In conjunction with the Director, the EC oversees day-to-day operations through its regular meetings, teleconferences, and electronic mail.  The EC approves the annual science plan, management plan, and budget; reviews priorities for software development with input from the electorate and the Science Steering Committee, and creates and appoints committees, such as the Nominating Committee, as needed. The EC has the authority to approve proposal submissions and contractual arrangements for CIG.

The EC has 7 members, of which 5 are voting members: the Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson, and three members at-large.  These members are elected by representatives of member institutions for staggered three-year terms.  The two ex officio members are the Director, and the Chairperson of the Science Steering Committee. 

Current members of the EC and their term end dates are:

 

Chair Katie Cooper cmcooper--at--wsu.edu Washington State University  2021
Vice-Chair Claire Currie claire.currie--at--ualberta.ca University of Alberta  2022
  Bruce Buffett bbuffett--at--berkeley.edu UC Berkeley 2022
  Alice Gabriel gabriel--at--geophysik.uni-muenchen.de University of Munich 2023
  Louis Moresi louis.moresi--at--anu.edu.au Australian National University 2021
Ex officio Scott King sking07--at--@vt.edu Virginia Tech  2022 
Ex officio Lorraine Hwang ljhwang--at--ucdavis.edu UC Davis  

Contact the EC.    


Science Steering Committee

The Science Steering Committee (SSC) prioritizes CIG software development from the perspective of the earth science and computational science discipline. The SSC assesses the competing objectives and needs of all the sub-disciplines covered by CIG, provides initial assessment of proposals submitted to CIG, and provides recommendations on the allocation of development resources. The SSC evaluates proposed CIG activities at least once a year formulating a prioritized list of tasks, and developing a yearly strategic plan for CIG. Recommendations from the SSC are forwarded to the EC and are part of the planning process.

The SSC works in consultation with the software development team and the Director to assess how tasks are inter-related and related to the broader needs of the community. To make this process as productive as possible, the Director and SSC look out for opportunities and new activities and work with those who are in the process of proposing a new effort to ensure that it is within the scope of CIG’s mission.

The SSC consists of 8 elected members including a Chairperson and 2 ex officio members - the CIG Director and the Chairperson of the EC. The committee balances the expertise in both the geosciences and computational sciences and provides guidance within all of the sub-disciplines of computational geodynamics.

Current members of the SSC and their term end dates are:

 

Chair Scott King sking07--at--@vt.edu Virginia Tech  2022
Vice-Chair Juliane Dannberg juliane.dannberg--at--ufl.edu University of Florida 2022
  Sylvain Barbot sbarbot--at--usc.edu University of Southern California 2023
  Ebru Bozdag bozdag--at--mines.edu Colorado School of Mines 2021
  Min Chen chenmi22--at--msu.edu Michigan State University 2023
  John Naliboff john.naliboff--a--nmt.edu  New Mexico Tech 2023
  Krista Soderlund krista--at--ig.utexas.edu University of Texas, Austin 2021
  Cian Wilson cwilson--at--carnegiescience.edu Carnegie, DTM 2021
Ex officio Katie Cooper cmcooper--at--wsu.edu Washington State University 2021
Ex officio Lorraine Hwang ljhwang--at--ucdavis.edu UC Davis  

Contact the SSC.

 

Sign In